top of page

Where We Belong

Hello, and welcome back to my blog! It's Single sketch reveal day on the Stick It Down blog - and here is my layout I created with the January 2022 single page sketch:

And here is this month's single page skecth:


As I was creating an A4 layout, I had to adapt the sketch. It's always difficult to adapt a square sketch that incorporates a large circular design element to a rectanular one. In addition, I really wanted to use the woodlog die-cut design by Sophie Gallo for the backgropund - so I decided that rather than "squashing" the sketch, I would just disregard the third on the right hand side, and work with the rest of it. I also turned it 180 degrees, so that my photo could be places towrads the top of the layout, rather than the bottom.



The rest was easy-peasy. I cut the wood log design from a woodgrain patterned paper as well as thick white cardstock. I glued the cardstock to the back of the woodgrain paper, to give the die cut design firmness and stability. This way, I could pop it onto dimensional foam tape without it warping and bending underneath the weight of the embellishments.



As the background paper is a distressed design, I didn't feel the need to use any mixed media. I added my photo, and created two embellishment clusters at two opposite corners of it. To stop it "floating", and because I like having three embellishment clusters on my layouts, I added a third cluster at the bottom.


For the embellishments I used whatever little bits and bobs i still have from the Simple Vintage Great Escape collection from Simple Stories. I completed the layout with some enamel dots - I didn't want to over-embellish the page, as I wanted the focal point to be the beautiful diecut piece!



I hope you like my layout! Dont forget to check back to the Stick It Down blog for more inspiration throughout the month, and do play along with out sketch challenges! Happy New Year and happy scrapping!

bottom of page