top of page

Beast of Birmingham

Hello, and welcome to my blog!


Today I'm sharing my take on the Stick It Down August 2022 double page sketch:

Here is the original sketch:

I decided to use a rectangular cutfile to replace the large doily on the left hand side - as I was making a doble A4 layout, I wasn't able to use a circular shape background element to cover most of the page.



The cogs and wheels background cutfile was perfect for my photos. However, I didn't want the page to look too grungy, so I used a watercolour patterned paper to cut the design out of.



For the right hand side of the layout, I replaced the two lots of four photos with two photos and a tag in each line. I used one of the tags for journaling, and the other one as an accent / subtitle.



The layout at this point felt like a mix-and-match medley - even though the photos were taklen on the same day at the same event, the ones on the right had a completely different feel from the ones on the left. It didn't help that I was using two completely different colelctions for the two pages. To compensate for this, I decided to cross over the embellishments to the opposit sides - on the right side I used embellishments cut from the same paper as the large background cutfile on the left and vice versa.




I completed the page by adding the title on the left and some tone-on-tone enamel dots across the two pages.



I hope you like my layout - don't forget to check back to the Stick It Down blog throughout the month for more inspiration. Happy scrapping!

bottom of page