top of page

A Right Royal Send-off

Hello, and welcome back to my blog! Today I'm sharing my November layout for Stick It Down:

Here is the original double page sketch I based my layout on:


As before, I was working with A4 format, therefore I had to make some adjustments to the sketch. I ended up using 5 photos only, but apart from that, the layout is pretty much the same as the sketch.


At the time of putting this page together, I didn't have any nice Autumnal photos from this year yet, and I was also awaiting the new Fall releases to arrive. So instead, I decided to document the royal funeral of our Queen.


For this layout I used some photos downloaded from the internet - I love how perfect they are!

As the colours were so strong on the photos, I had to choose my papers and embellishments carefully.

I had two options: replicating the vibrancy of the primary colours in the photos, or choosing softer shades to compliment the photos. I chose the latter, as I didn't want the layout to be too overwhelming.



I chose a neutral background paper, which complimented the beige shades on the photos.

I layered a watercolour effect paper on top of this, with colours going from beige to peach to bright pink - this picked up on the colours of the background paper, harmonised with the red in the photos and complimented the embellishments I added later.

I also introduced a dark green colour at this point, to create some contrast.



I added the title on the left, using pinky-red glitter thickers, a sub-title on the right and added a journaling card to the bottom of the layout.



I created the embellishment clusters using lots of florals - I love how the colours went perfectly with the layout!

Finally, I added some gold Colorshine droplets.



I hope you find my layout inspirational - be sure to check out the other layouts featured in the blog post, and don't forget to check back for more inspiration thoroughout the month.


Thanks for visiting! :-)



bottom of page