top of page

We Don't Remember Days, We Remember Moments

Hello and welcome to my blog!

Another month fled by, and I'm back with this layout made with the July Stick It Down double page sketch. And what a fantastic sketch it is indeed! I really enjoyed working with this one!

I used a plain white card stock background again - I filled it with stamped doily images, rather than creating a border from semi-circles, as suggested by the sketch. I used colours that compliment the photos, without competing for attention. I only have a limited supply of ink, as stamping is not a technique I use very often, so these colours had to do:

I used a pink watercolour paper for the centre panel from the Heidi Swapp Hawthorne collection and green glitter washi tape for the strips. As the photos are overlapping, I matted them onto scraps of paper to create contrast, so that it's easy to see where one photo finishes and the other one starts.

I used photos which are very similar to each other - I often do this and I wonder if people ever question why. There is a good reason for this. I like to take lots of photos of the same situation, especially when photographing my kids. They tend to get bored and non-compliant easily, pulling faces and sticking their tongues out at the camera. Even when they are cooperating, someone is likely to be blinking or looking in the wrong direction when the shutter closes. So it's good to have a selection of photos to choose from. The photos from the left are three different photos, even though they look the same. They all capture different moods and different facial expressions, if you look carefully.

The images on the right are the same photo, cropped differently. I like doing this, to give a better idea of the bigger picture, as well as allowing to see the faces from close-up. The photo on the left in this particular case shows the beautiful flowers in the background, which is why I chose this particular back-drop for the photos, so it was important to include this in the layout.

I repeated the large stamped doilies in the two embellishment clusters - these are die-cut. Most of the embellishments and stickers are from various One Canoe Two collections, but you can find Heidi Swapp and Maggie Holmes bits and bobs there, too. I try not to use too many floral embellishments for our days out and travel photos, but i did on this one, as I wanted to draw attention to the beautifully flowering bushes on the photos.

I ran out of room on the journaling card, so I had to add a small label to be able to finish the sentiment - I actually quite like how this turned out!

What I like about this sketch is that it gave enough room for a long title - I used the 'white' space above and below the central panel to do this. I'm still in love with these small foam alphas - they seem to last forever and they allow for longer titles; and they are such great value for money!

I completed the layout with some Colorshine splatters - I used a bright green one, which came in a multi-pack and I never thought I would use it - but it's the perfect colour for this layout! I used a dropper to achieve the larger splats - I love how they came out!

I hope you like my layout for July. It's not the usual technique and colour choice I would go for, but I felt quite summery, so I used brighter than usual colours. Please visit the Stick It Down blog for loads more inspiration from the double page team. Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page