top of page

UP, UP, UP ON A TREE!

Hello, and welcome to my blog. Today I am sharing with you the layout I created with the Stick It Down April 2021 double page sketch.


Here is the layout:


And here is the sketch::


I decided to go for an Autumn theme for this layout, because I wanted to use the Late Afternoon collection from Amy Tan. I love the patterned papers and cut-apart sheets in this collection, and this sketch was ideal to use a variety of them.



First of all, I flipped the sketch, so that the embellishment clusters on the layout are on the opposite sides to the sketch. I kept the placement of the patterned paper squares, but I ended up making some changes to the placement of the photos, the title and the journaling.



I used a neutral cardstock background, as I knew that the layout would get rather busy with all the patterned paper squares.


Because the the two photos with the vertical orientation were smaller than specified on the sketch, I was left with some empty space on the left side of the layout - This space was ideal for the journailng.

On the other side, rather than using a larger horizontal photo and three smaller square photos, I used two horizontal photos, one stacked on top of the other.



I wanted to use a long title, to run the whole length of the photos - it's not particularly original, but I had to choose a title that could be spelt by the alpha stickers I still had from this collection. As I had to use a woodgrain exclamation mark from a different alpha set, I added a woodgrain washi from a Heidi Swapp collection to the bottom of the layout, too.



The embellishment clusters were really fun to create, as this collection is so beautiful. I chose similar 'items' to go in each cluster, to create cohesion, while also ensuring some variation.



I hope you like my layout. Don't forget to check back to the Stick It Down blog throughout the month for more inspiration! Thanks for visiting!



















bottom of page