top of page

Stick It Down 6th Birthday Party!

Hi there! If you are reading this, there is a good chance that you are participating in our celebratory hop on Instagram! Welcome, friend! We are celebrating our boss lady Ashley's 6th year of running our little inspirational blog! Woo-hoo!


Here is the double page sketch I chose for the hop:


And here is the layout I created with it:



I have been waiting for a very long time to scrap these photos - waiting for the right collection to come along... They are very meaningful photos, of my birthday party as a child, which also happened to be a garden party. Possibly the best birthday party I have ever had! And by coincidence, the scrapbooking collection that proved to be perfect for these photos is the Garden Party collection from Maggie Holmes! The design elements in this collection remind me so much of my childhood! The paper I used for the background is called Wildflower - it's my favourite from the whole collection...it reminds me of my mum so much, because she had a stripy shirtjust like the B side of this paper, and another shirt with a floral pattern, which was very much like the A side of this paper, but a different colour combination...!



I started my layout with the background - I cut the patterned papers to 1/3 : 2/3 ratio. I placed the larger strips with the striped pattern in the middle and the smaller strips with the floral pattern on the sides. I wanted the layout to be super-girly, so I used a scalloped punch for the floral strips. This meant that I was losing a bit from the width, so I used a strip of bright pink card stock to fill in the gap - I used a different scallop punch here. The cardstock was quite a vivid shade of pink - I liked the contrast it created. I mounted the strips onto white cardstock, just to make the foundations of the page a bit more sturdy.



Next, I found the right placement for the photos. I mounted them onto patterned paper which complemented the background colours. Before adhering the photos on the left side, I sandwiched a triangular piece of card stock between the background and the photos for the hidden journaling.



Next, I added the embellishments - I used floral ephemera pieces from the Marigold collection from Maggie Holmes, and added some other bits and bobs from the Garden Party collection.


I cut two large heart shapes from cardstock with my Silhouette Portrait and adhered them together. I added some lined journal paper to the insides, creating lots of room to document my memories for my birthday party! I toyed with the idea of using patterned paper for the heart, but chickened out in the end - I wanted to keep it relatively simple, and there was already plenty going on!


Finally I die-cut the main title - I simply couldn't find a set of alpha stickers worthy of this special occasion! I then added the subtitle, using small gold alpha tiles. I completed the page with some sequins.



I hope you like my layout! You can find the process video here! Don't forget to complete our hop on Instagram to be in with a chance to win the grand prize from My Little Scrapbook Store! Thanks for visiting!










bottom of page