top of page

Snowy Winter Walks

Hello, and welcome back to my blog! This week I am working with the Stick It Down February 2021 single page sketch. Here is my finished layout



And here is the original sketch:

To tell the truth, I did make a different layout with these photos, one that followed the sketch more closely. But I didn't like it, as the papers I used didn't seem wintery enough, so I decided to opt for a different approach.


I decided to use the Winter Market collection from Carta Bella, to re-iterate the snowiness of the photos (we don't often get snow, which makes the kids so much more appreciative of it when it happens).


This collection has such beautiful patterns, I wanted them to show on the layout. Accordingly, I decided to go for a patterned paper instead of mixed media for the background, and replaced the line of diamond shapes with a strip of patterned paper. To separate the two patterns, I used a punched border to provide the necessary contrast.




I rotated the sketch 90 degrees clock-wise, as this orientation suited the photos better. It would have been difficult to include a long vertical title, so I decided to keep the title in its original orientation. I split it into three lines, so that it does descend on the page (in a fashion).




I used bits from the sticker sheet to create two embellishment clusters... I didn't want to use up all the snowflakes on one layout, so I boosted the collection with some home made embellishment pieces. For this I purchased and downloaded cut-files from the coordinating collection from the Silhouette Design Store. First, I foiled the original shape with my WRMK foil quill. Then, I created an outline with the offset option of the software, and cut around this with my Portrait machine.




Finally, I splattered some white acrylic paint over the layout - these are hard to see, as blend in quite a bit, but I like how it pulled the layout together.




I hope you like my layout. Don't forget to check back to the Stick It Down blog throughout the month for more inspiration! Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page