top of page

Pumpkinin'

Hello, and welcome back to my blog! This blog post is going out early, as this month I am featured guest designer on the Stick It Down blog! Which is pretty special, as October is possibly my favourite month to scrapbook!


So, here is this month's double page sketch:


And here is my completed layout:


I used a selection of old and new products for this layout. The rows and columns of squares reminded me of the 2"x2" cut-apart sheets from Simple Stories, which I have included both from the brand new Cozy Days collection, and from the Simple Vintage Autumn Splendor collection from last year. The Halloween pumpkin paper came from the Simple Stories Boo Crew collection. I used these and the title to frame the layout. Most of the embellishments came from the Cozy Days collection, as well as from the new Amy Tangerine Late Autumn collection, which is my 'fall fave' this year...



The photos I wanted to use were rectangular in shape, measuring 3"x4", so some of the parameters didn't add up well with the parameters of the cut-apart squares. So I divided the area to five columns: four of them would contain one horizontal photo and four squares, and one would have a vertical photo, one full square and some off-cuts. I also alternated the position of the photos on the layout.



By creating the columns, I was able to create some order, so that it wouldn't get too confusing for the eyes. I chose three main colours to include: orange, green and light blue. I used repeating patterns to reduce the chaos: leaves, pumpkins, doilies and block colours. I also chose plain patterns for the background.




I cut the title from patterned papers - I used an orange striped glitter paper sheet for the main body of the letters, and the b-side of the pumpkin paper for the outlines, to set the title off the background.



I created three embellishment clusters, as specified by the sketch; I used corresponding embellishment pieces to create unity. I completed the layout with the journaling.



I hope you like my layout, and find it inspiring. You can find the process video here. Don't forget to check back to the Stick It Down blog for more inspiration throughout the month! Thanks for visiting!


bottom of page