top of page

Oh What Fun!

Hello, and welcome back to my blog! This month I am featured designer on the Stick It Down blog, and today I will be working with the December 2020 single page sketch! This sketch was designed by the very talented Laura Rumble, who loves working with shapes, especially circles!



Unfortunately I am not a great fan of circular photos, and so I ended up making some changes to this month's sketch. Here is my completed layout:


First of all, I rotated the layout clockwise by 90 degrees. Then, for the six circles on the sketch, I used six small wreath diecuts. These were made with my Silhouette Portrait - first using my Foil Quill to draw the original shapes, then cutting around them.



Originally I used six uniform wreaths cut out of woodgrain patterned paper, but later replaced half by wreaths cut out from purple cardstock, as these coordinated with some of the colours on the photos so much better. I also cut out six outlines from vellum, and matted the wreaths on these.




I used four of the wreaths as backgrounds for photos, one for the title and one for the journaling. The photos appeared very mismatched when placed on the layout in chronological order, so I ended up rearranging them to make the layout more coherent and easy to interpret.



I created clusters around each wreaths, using very similar embellishments for each cluster, to create cohesion. This was important, as there was already a lot going on on this page... To follow the sketch, I added a horizontal line of embellishments on the side.



Finally, I added the title and the journaling. I added gold chipboard number stickers to the photos, to establish chronological order, and to tie them to the journaling. As the layout wasn't red enough (I strongly associate Christmas with the colour red), I added three red stars. As always, I toyed with the idea of gold splatters, but decided against it - this layout was a fine balancing act on the edge of over-crowdedness, so I thought it was wise to err on the side of caution.



I hope you like my layout, and it gives you some inspiration for scrapping those Christmassy photos! I loved working with this sketch, as it allows adding multiple photos, which is something I love doing! You can see how this layout came together on my YouTube channel! Don't forget to keep checking back to the Stick It Down blog for weekly inspiration from our design teams! Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page