top of page

JUST START

Hello, and welcome to my blog!


Today I am sharing a journal entry I made, based on the July 2021 Stick It Down double page sketch. Here is the sketch:



And here is my completed layout:


I wanted to do a quick and easy layout in my journal, rather than a full 12" x 24 layout, so I had to re-interpret the sketch a bit... First of all, I had a lot less photos to use, so the grid on the right had to be 2x2, rather than 3x3. Also, due to the orientation of the photo on the left, and the changes in parameters of the work surface, it made sense to rotate the sketch 90 degrees clockwise. I did this by rotating the two halves of the layout separately.

This made the photo grid on the right to sit right at the top of the page, which was a bit of a weird positioning. So I ended up repositioning one of the paper strips to the top of the page, this created a frame around the photos, shifting them towards the middle, which was a lot more aesthetically pleasing.



The patterned paper I chose reflected the water theme of the photos. As well as using blues and greens, I also used a strip of lilac and pink paper, to tie in some of the embellishments. I used stickers, puffy stickers and die cuts from various Pinkfresh Studio collections - I went for inspirational phrases... because I used quite a few of these, I did not have to bother with any journaling - the photos and embellishments told the story better than words would have...




I also used some home made die cut elements for embellishments... I used digital cutfiles from Peartree Cutfiles. I used my Foil Quill to transfer the original design onto the paper, then cut around them with my Silhouette Portrait... I love using this method, it creates beautiful custom made embellishment pieces!



I hope you like my layout... if you want to see how it all came together, you can watch my process video here. And don't forget to check back to the Stick It Down blog for more inspiration throughout the month! Thanks for visiting!


bottom of page