top of page

January Stories

Hello, and welcome back to my blog! This month I’m working with the Stick It Down single sketch again… as much as I love working with the double sketches, it’s nice to have a bit of a change every now and again!

So, here’s the March single page sketch from the very talented Laura Rumble:

And here is my completed layout:

I love Laura’s sketches, but I knew this one would be a challenge for me, as I don’t often do stitching on my pages… so I ended up doing some serious re-interpretation…

I started by finding photos which would be suitable for this sketch. I ended up using three photos that my daughter took, back in foggy, dismal, miserable January… She is turning out to be a budding photographer, and I love that she has such an eye for detail…

I decided to mix products from various Heidi Swapp and Pinkfresh Studio collections. They seemed to be the ideal colour choice for the photos. I knew I wanted to use the little cameras on this layout – these have been fussy cut from a patterned paper from the Honey and Spice collection.

To replace the stitched lines on the sketch, I used a roller stamp from American Crafts. I started with yellow ink, then went over the stamped design a second time, this time with pink. I used two different shades. I chose the colours to match the floral background paper.

I stacked the photos on layers of patterned paper and arranged them on the right-hand side. I added a very small embellishment cluster to each photo.

Finally, I arranged the cameras on the stamped area, adding a little puffy heart to each of them. I completed the layout with the title and the journaling.

I hope you like my layout. I have to admit, it was quite a challenge! I don’t often float cameras on rays of hearts… but it was nice to get out of my comfort zone and get a bit more abstract than usual!

Don’t forget to check back to the Stick It Down Blog for more inspiration throughout the month! Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page