top of page

Hello Happy Trail!

Hello, and welcome back to my blog!


Today I am sharing my layout made with the Stick It Down June 2021 double page sketch. Here is the sketch:

And here is my completed layout:



This month's sketch was a really fun one to work with - so versatile, and so open to interpretations! I decided to interpret it as using one large and several small rectangular photos. I alternated the photos with patterned paper rectangles over both pages - this is such a fun way of showcasing your favourite papers!




I decided to do a themed layout, so w back to my trustworthy and ever-decreasing Simple Vintage Great Escape collection from Simple Stories. I decided to mix it with bits and bobs from more recent collections - namely: Reaching Out from Jen Hadfield, Simple Vintage Cottage Gardens from Simple Stories and Flora No 4 from Carta Bella. I'm especially loving the latter one, as it is such a good mixture of feminine and masculine tones!



I stuck to the sketch pretty closely, with some minor adjustments - I used slightly smaller rectangles than suggested on the sketch, which created an extra column. I also pushed the embellishment cluster around the journaling to the side, rather than creating a row of embellishments under the journaling card. I also used some word stickers and some acrylic arrows for added interest.



The photos were taken on quite an overcast day back in April - accordingly, the mood and tone of the photos is quite wintery, with lost of earth tones going on. I wanted to match some of the paper pieces to complement the photos, but I also wanted them to represent Spring time, which we have been waiting for what seems like forever! So I chose some earth tone papers to match the photos, and also some floral patterns with pinks and blues to lighten the mood, mixing them to create a balanced background.



I chose the embellishments to match the brighter colours of the paper pieces. I really craved yellow for some weird reason, so I introduced something yellow to all three embellishment clusters. I completed the layout with some gold splatters.


I hope you like my layout. Here is the process video, in case you'd like to see how it all came together. And don't forget to check back to the Stick It Down blog for more inspirations throughout the month! Thanks for visiting!




bottom of page