top of page

Escape, Explore, Unplug

Hello, and welcome to my blog! I'm super-excited to announce that this month I am guest designing for White with...1! Yay!


I've been playing along with their monthly challenges for a while now - I started participating in their challenges initially to stretch myself, as using a white background hasn't always been easy for me. So with that little journey in mind, to be asked to guest on their blog is a real honour!


The colour of choice this month is rainforest green:


To inspire you further, White with... 1 also had a mood board this month:




I love mood boards - they always give me ideas I wouldn't otherwise go for...

So, here is my completed layout:




I decided to make a double page layout. The mood board inspired me to choose photos taken during a woodland walk. I chose patterned papers and embellishments from the Wolf Pack collection from Heidi Swapp, which is an all-time favourite of mine, and was also perfect for this layout both in theme and colour scheme.




I used a paw print cutfile from the Silhouette design store to cut trails on the white card stock background. I slightly trimmed the card stock and mounted them onto patterned paper - this created added interest to the page, as you could see the paper peaking through the apertures, as well as around the edges.



Next, inspired by the mood board, I decided to use mixed media on the background. I used the packaging technique to add some ink to the cardstock. To do this, instead of using gesso on the cardstock, I sprayed water on it, to encourage the ink to spread a bit before being absorbed. This also created softer edges of the inked areas, which I quite like.


I also added some more ink by stamping paw prints onto the page, just to re-iterate the intensity of the rainforest green colour, as the colour became a bit diluted in the inked areas.


Next, I placed the photos and the title onto the background. Originally, the title was going to be 'Explore', an acetate word printed just in the right shade of green! However, I was inspired be the alphas on the mood board to expand on my title, and going through my embellishments and stamps, I realised that I could do this, as I had a word stamp and a smaller acetate piece, which matched perfectly both in theme and font.



Last but not least, I added three embellishment clusters to the page, to frame the photos and to bring the two pages together. This was a bit tricky, as I am running a bit low on embellishment in this collection, but I managed to make it work in the end.



I hope you like my layout. If you want to see how it all came together, you can watch my process video here. Thanks for visiting my blog! Happy scrapping!


bottom of page