top of page

Christmas 2020

Hello, Crafty Friends, and welcome to my blog!

Today I am sharing my double page layout I created with the Stick It Down December double page sketch...

Here is my completed layout:



And here is the sketch:


Each year I make a double page layout about how we celebrate on Christmas day. These layouts go into a designated album, so that every time I flick through it I can see how our family and our family celebrations changed over the years... I've done this ever since my first-born's first Christmas, so the album is getting rather full...


A few years ago I started using the December double page sketch from the Stick It Down blog to scrapbook my Christmas Day photos from the year before. This year's December sketch was perfect for my layout, as I like including a larger photo and multiple smaller ones.



For this layout I used the Merry & Bright collection from Cocoa Vanilla Studio - it's quite a whimsical collection with a non-traditional palette of pastel colours. In contrast, the colours on the photo are quite strong, and I thought that the difference between the paper collection and the photos might be too jarring - to overcome this, I decided to opt for a wood grain background. I chose a lighter shade patterned paper from Echo park, which was just right.



To roll with the whimsical theme, I replaced the tags on the left hand side with some die-cut Christmas candy shapes. I cut the shape out from three different colours in four different shapes, to add variety and randomness to the layout.



On the left hand side, I had to make some alterations to the sketch to accommodate my photos. I replaced one of the photos with an accent spot for extra embellishment, and added the title here. I moved the journaling to the top left of the page - I placed a few journaling cards into a pocket, as I wanted the journaling to be hidden.



For embellishing, I carried some of the candies over to the right to create cohesion. Since the title card had a bauble design on, I carried this over to the left, and created two small embellishment clusters around the large photo. I kept these small, as there was plenty going on around this photo already.



I completed the page by scattering some acrylic starts around the embellishment clusters.



I hope you like my Christmas layout - if you want to see how it came together, you can watch my process video here. Also, don't forget to check out the Stick It Down blog and Instagram account for further inspiration throughout the month! Happy scrapping and Merry Christmas!

bottom of page