top of page

Building a Kit with Counterfeit Kit Challenge

Hello and welcome to my blog! I am super-excited to announce that this month I am guest featuring on the Counterfeit Kit Challenge blog! Woo-hoo!


Here is this month's inspirational kit from Paper Person - it's their 'New Episode' kit from April 2021:



My initial thought was that this kit was very blue, especially looking at the images of the cut-apart sheets and pocket journaling:

But then I had a closer look at some of the images, and I was really inspired by this 12"x12" paper:


So I went ahead and selected my papers based on this colour scheme - here they are:


I chose mainly blues, yellows and pinks. Some of the papers - like the coral and the navy blue in the top row were selected as they coordinate well with the other papers. I also selected some partial paper pieces and paper from 6"x8" paper pads - you'll see these on one of the other photos.


I chose a number of coordinating embellishments from the same collections as the papers: sticker sheets, puffy stickers, chipboard pieces, ephemera pieces, washi tape and PL journaling cards. I took some inspiration from the kit, so I chose phrase and word stickers, labels and tags. The epoxy stickers inspired me to select the epoxy paper slides on the right side of the photo, towards the middle:


My plan is to continue building one of my travel albums with this kit - accordingly, it has a distinctive travel theme. I thought it would make sense just to continue rolling with this theme, rather than introducing the theme of the inspirational kit, which was 'movie night'.



So looking at the stamp set of the inspirational kit, I disregarded anything related with films, movies or staying in, and what I was left with was phrases, icons and tickets, which I used as the starting point for choosing my stamp sets. I ended up choosing four different ones, as I am only likely to use one or two stamps from each set:

And finally, I chose something for the titles: one puffy and one foam phrase sticker sheets, one pale gold glitter and one vellum alpha set, and two smaller alpha sticker sheets - one puffy and one glitter. This might seem a bit excessive, but some of these letter and phrase sticker sheets are rather 'gappy', and I needed to make sure that I would be able to spell out those titles...


So, here is my complete kit - as usual, I planned for going small, and ended up with something rather large... but I do like to have a choice:



Thanks for visiting my blog! If you want to know more details about my kit, you can view my process video here. And here is the order of the Counterfeit Kit Challenge reveal hop for July 2021:







bottom of page