top of page

Bug Hotel

Hello Crafty Friends, and welcome to my blog! Today I am sharing a layout I created with the Stick It Down December 2021 single page sketch:



Here is the sketch made by the very talented Laura Rumble:



This month's single page sketch is super-fun, and open to interpretation - it was a real joy to work with!

Initially I wanted to make a wintery layout with it, with large snowflakes, or doilies, or, even better, snowflake doilies in the background, but then I came across these photos from a few years ago, and decided to make one more Autumnal layout, before putting this year's Autumn kit away.



I used a Nic Squirrell cutfile from the Silhouette design store for the three circular clusters in the background.

I arranged my photos on the right hand side - i preferred them to be in a tight cluster, overlapping each other, so I moved the title to the left.



I created a couple of embellishment clusters around the photos - I kept these relatively simple, as the background was rather busy. I completed the layout by adding a tag for hidden journaling behind one of the photos.


The colours and patterns I chose were heavily inspired by the photos - I chose a brownish-red card stock for the berries, to match my daughter's jumper, and mustard yellow alpha to match my son's trousers. The background paper is wood grain, to match the shed in the photos, and I chose leaves and insects for the embellishing, to match the theme.



I hope you like my layout. Don't forget to keep checking back to the Stick It Down blog for more inspiration throughout the month! You can also check out our Instagram account here. Thanks for visiting, and Happy Holidays!



bottom of page