top of page

Baddesley after Lockdown

Hello, and welcome back to my blog! Today is the single page team's reveal day on the Stick It Down blog! Here is my layout:




And here is the sketch on which it was based:



I love working with simple sketches like this one, and my layout came together super easy. I decided to work on an A4 sizes card stock - this is a size I have been trialing in the past couple of months... and I'm still not quite decided of what to think about it... Originally I thought it would be easier to work with it, but I do find it difficult at times, especially for larger photos, or multiple photo layouts... but I do like how one double sided patterned paper can provide both for the background and for layering... I did find the A4 size quite restricting for this sketch, as it had to be rotated to make room for the title.


I started with cutting out the title from gold foiled paper with my Silhouette machine. Using the Silhouette software, I offset the text to create a background shape, in which the title could be nestled into. I made a square and I welded this to the title outline, before cutting it out.




I used the remnants of the paper as a partial margin to go around the cardstock - as suggested on the sketch. After adhering the diecut shape onto the cardstock, I adhered the title. I matted the photo onto a couple of layers of patterned paper, and adhered it to the page.


I used the floral ephemeras from the Avenue collection from Jen Hadfield for this layout, as I have been using these on other pages in connection to this photo and to this story - this created cohesion and carry-over between the pages. I added a little embellishment cluster to the top of the page, as it looked too bare for my liking. I added other small elements to the floral cluster at the bottom, and repeated them at the top. And that completed my layout.




As it is a title page, there was no real need for any journaling or a date stamp, which is lucky, as I was seriously running out of room ;-).


I hope you like my layout. You can check out my process video here. Don't forget to check back to the SID blog for more weekly inspirations throughout the month. Happy crafting, and thanks for visiting!

bottom of page