top of page

Where We Belong


Hello, and welcome back to my blog! Today I am sharing the double page layout I made for the Stick It Down blog for July. Here is the fantastic sketch by Lauren Mullarkey:

This was such a fun sketch to work with - it's right down my alley: very clean and crisp with straight lines and geometrical balance. Also, it incorporated photos of different size and orientation, which was just perfect for me.

This month I worked with he new Simple Vintage Great Escape collection from Simple Stories. This collection suits my lifestyle perfectly, as my family enjoy being out and about in nature. And now, that it is allowed again after the easing of Lockdown, there are plenty of photos to scrap! Yay!

I tried to keep true to the sketch, but I had to make some changes, as my photos were slightly smaller than the photos on the sketch, which created extra space. I used this space for my journaling; I also replaced the two small photos on the right with some 2"x2" squares from a cut-apart sheet.

I also replaced one of the vertical photos in the middle with a title card from the 3"x4" cut-apart paper, as it seemed the perfect title for the layout. I added a couple of embellishments to this card.

I tried to keep the placement of the embellishment clusters as close to what is specified on the sketch as possible, but they had to be moved slightly to suit the layout. I loved creating the clusters, the die-cuts and stickers in this collection are absolutely amazing! I am not one for butterflies normally, but I love the ones in this collection - they make so much more sense to my literal brain, as they are in the right context!

I completed the layout with some sequins, as it was getting rather busy, and I didn't want to overwhelm the eye with random ink splatters. A few strategically placed sequins seemed like a better choice this time.

I hope you like my layout. Don't forget to check back to the SID blog for new inspiration from the design team and our guest designers each week! I am now also on the single page design team, and will be posting my single page next week! You can also have a look at my process video on Youtube. Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page