top of page

CYMRU - Enjoy the Journey


Hello, and welcome back to my blog!

Apologies for the delay in posting... i was supposed to put this second part up last Saturday, but Life had other plans...

I'm still working with the November double page sketch from Stick It Down for this layout, reinterpreting it another way.

For this layout I have decided to use washi tape for the stripes. It was supposed to be a quick-ish way of doing things... well, let me tell you, I was wrong!!! It took me absolutely ages to do it, and that was just the background! I think part of the problem was that I wanted to do it quite precisely, so I used a ruler to guide the placement of the washi tape, which was quite a faff.

The silly thing is, I ended up covering most of it with photos, anyways, so it really didn't matter that much. Never mind, lesson learnt!!!

I chose shades of blues, pinks, yellows and gold for the washi tape, to keep things fairly simple. The background still ended up quite vibrant, so I matted the photos onto vellum, to tune the colours down a bit.

As for the sketch, I flipped it again. I replaced the two photos on the left with one large photo; on the right, I added an extra row, and an extra photo in the middle row. I incorporated vertical and horizontal photos here.

I tried to keep the placement of the embellishments true to the sketch. This was difficult, as I do struggle with aesthetics when working linearly. It never looks quite right. I work much better in embellishment clusters. So this was a real challenge, especially on the right, where I had to place the embellishments along three photos.

I did end up adding an extra cluster for the journalling, which for me is a must. Luckily there was plenty of 'white' space on the photo to accommodate this.

The embellishments I used are from the Carta Bella 'Let's Travel' line, and the Pinkfresh Studio 'Out and About' and 'Just a Little Lovely' collections. I also used some random puffy hearts - not sure where these came from.

There is not much more ta add... I think the photos speak for themselves. Hope this post is helpful for people who want to stretch their creativity and interpret the sketch a bit more loosely than usual...

Don't forget to check out the Stick It Down blog to see the fantastic layouts the double page team has created this month! This layout is part of my 'One Sketch, Three Variations' video, if you'd like to see how it all came together. Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page