top of page

Not All Memories Are Easy To Make


Hello and welcome to my blog!

This month the design team at Stick It Down has collaborated with 'White ... with !' to deliver this month’s challenge! You can see the SID double page sketch bellow; we also incorporated White... with 1's challenge to use grey on a white background.

This was a real challenge for me as I usually use patterned paper for my background. Whereas I admire fellow scrapbookers who can rock a white background, I often find it quite jarring on my own layouts...

I modified the sketch to suit my purposes - I used three horizontal photographs instead of the five vertical ones. These were originally 6”x4” size, but I had to trim them down a bit to be able to mat them on paper pieces from a 6"x8" paper pad. The photo in the middle had to be cut into two, which is always very scary, as you have only one chance to do it, so you have to do it right the first time.

I used a grey and white striped paper for the larger piece of patterned paper from the Boys Rule collection from Cocoa Vanilla Studio. I’ve replaced the smaller pieces of papers on the two sides with stamped images. This way I could stick to the 75% white rule, which is one of the specifications of the challenge.

I used black and grey embellishments to decorate the page; I’ve organised

these in two clusters on either side of the row of photos. I used mostly pieces from the Boys Rule collection from Cocoa Vanilla Studio and from the Auburn Lane collection from Pink Paislee.

As the title proved to be quite a long one, I decided to spread it across the page, above the photos. I’m quite pleased with how this turned out. I would have liked using silver or grey thickers to spell ‘memories’, but I didn’t have any in my stash, so ended up using gold ones. To integrate this colour into the layout, I have splattered some gold Heidi Swapp Color Shine around the embellishment clusters.

Finally, I’ve completed the layout with some journaling. As there was quite a bit of it to be included, I used the stripes on the background paper as lines to guide my writing and utilised the whole space underneath the photos. I haven’t included any dates as this double page will be a part of a longer story,with the date recorded on another page.

I hope you like my layout. It is very different from my usual style, but I am quite pleased with how it turned out, and it’s great to stretch and challenge ourselves every now and again! Be sure to check out both the Stick It Down and the White... with 1 blogs for more great inspiration from the design teams! Thanks for visiting!

P. S. I will be adding a link to my YouTube channel for the process video soon.


bottom of page