top of page

10 Today! (Oh Happy Day!)


Hello and welcome back to my blog!

It seems to be such a long time since my last layout for Stick It Down - I’ve had such a busy month and very little time was spent on scrapbooking. But anyhow, here is my layout for April:

And this is the April double page sketch I used:

I had my eyes on some new products from the spring releases, which I have been waiting for for absolutely ages. And then everything seemed to hit the UK market all at the same time, and I became quite overwhelmed... with having so little time for scrapbooking, I didn’t really get a chance to familiarise myself with the new goodies, so I decided to go with older stock...

We celebrated my daughter’s 10th birthday in March, so I decided to make that the subject of my layout. It was a small affair, so it didn’t really need several pages of project life-style documenting. She is such a tomboy right now, it didn’t feel right to go with anything too girly. Also, I have taken her to the Sealife Centre, and didn’t think that flowers and butterflies would go particularly well with the theme...

So in the end I have chosen an older Maggie Holmes wood grain paper for the background and an old Webster Pages paper for the triangles. I liked the confetti pattern as I thought it went well with the celebration theme, and they also look a bit like bubbles underwater, which was ideal for the fishy theme... and the colours went really well with the goodrain paper.

I added and extra photo, as there were 7 photos altogether to include in this layout. Talking of photos, I’m really disappointed how these photos came out, but it was too late to have them printed again. So, apologies.

The photos were taken on the same day, but at two different locations. The ones on the left were taken at home in the morning, and red seems to be one of the dominant colours. The photos on the right were taken at the Sealife Centre and the dominant colour is bright blue. To pull the photos together, I chose red matting for the photos on the right and blue for the photos on the left. They are not as prominent as the colours on the photos, as I didn’t want them to compete.

I mixed and matched embellishments form older Maggie Holmes and Illustrated Faith lines and added a few puffy hearts from the Mix No 2 collection from Pinkfresh Studio. I kept is quite simple, as the photos were quite crazy in colour... I didn’t overthink things, I just grabbed what I felt went with the layout and went for it... it was nice not trying to stick to just one line of products and to use up some old stock.

I hope you like my layout. Don’t forget to check out the Stick It Down blog for loads more inspiration from the design team! Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page