top of page

Best Brother


Hello and welcome back to my blog. It's the first day of the month again, which means new sketches and inspirations on the Stick It Down blog to get those creative juices flowing! I have been working with the double page sketch again and this is my layout for March:

I worked with the new Heidi Swapp line, Hawthorne, which I have been awaiting with great anticipation. I love how it's super-feminine with its beautiful floral designs and pinks and purples, but at the same time earthy with a travel theme and beautiful tones of blues and browns. I chose several papers for the background as the sketch allowed for a large empty space, which was ideal to showcase some of the beautiful papers from this line.

The story behind my layout focuses on my son (as you might have guessed), who, on a good day can be such a support and such a source of fun for his little sister. I subconsciously associate navy patterned paper with him, for some weird and wonderful reason, so I included the navy patterned paper with the circle design. His signature colour however is purple, hence I chose the much brighter orange-to-pink-to-purple-to-burgundy paper to be also included. I chose to put a strip of this paper on both sides of the layout to give cohesion to the pages. The navy striped paper is just lush and the cream paper has a delicate map pattern on, so it was included, as the photos were taken on one of our family days out.

I used stickers and ephemera from the same line, as well as little bits from an earlier Heidi Swapp collection (Magnolia Jane). I love how these two collections are so complementary to each other. They are both very feminine, as well, but so easily adaptable for masculine layouts, too. I've got the stamp sets from both collections and couldn't resist to use them.

I used the largest alpha stickers I could find and included a fair bit of journaling, as usual.

I hope you like my layout... be sure to check out the Stick It Down blog throughout the month for loads more inspiration! I will be loading up a process video onto YouTube soon. Happy scrapping!

bottom of page