top of page

Stick It Down July '17 Double Page Challenge


Time flies when you are having fun. I had these photos for three years now, but somehow never got round to scrap them. I always knew that I would do them as a double page. I got as far as making the bare basics of the background, using the pink camera paper. And then I put it away, in my ever growing pile of partially completed layouts.

And then this layout came along in the form of the monthly challenge at Stick It Down:

The similarities between the background I prepared and the sketch was a complete coincidence, but it gave me motivation to finally get this layout done. I completed the background by following the sketch, adding some patterned paper cut into wide flag shapes, placed horizontally on the layout.

Rather than scattering the photos on the left hand side, I chose to print them in a block, taking up most of my page. These photos might be completely random and pointless for others, but to me they capture the essence of how my kids were at that particular time. I like to print the photos big enough to see them properly, even if it leaves very little room for the embellishing...

I made a bit of a mistake with the printing: the image on the right side of the double layout is also featured on the photo collage on the left. I decided to cover up the photo on the left with an inspirational quote:

As the right hand side page only had one smallish photo on, it was a lot less busy and I was able to add more embellishments here. I used a variety of older stickers and die-cuts, as well as print-and-cut designs from the Silhouette store.

bottom of page