top of page

Back to School

Inspired by this post on Shimelle's blog.

New school and all new experiences this year for my Best Boy. We have been soooooo looking forward to this new adventure – and yes, we haven’t quite stopped celebrating his success of getting into the local grammar school.

I’ve started a new school album for him – I am still using the 11” x 8 ½” format. These are the first three pages for year 7:

For the cover page I used a photo I took of the school walls on the first day of school. It was a drizzly, overcast day and I really liked how the vivid colour of the bricks were in stark contrast of the dullness of the atmosphere. I decided to use this photo for the front page (in previous years I would be using the 'official' school portraits), and the plan is to use a different feature of the school for the front pages in coming years…

I have been saving some embellishment from the Starshine collection for the beginning of the school year – I knew that some of the inspirational stuff would come really handy for this new chapter in our lives.

The next two pages is a coordinating double page – one 11 x 8 ½ layout and one pocket page for the story and the smaller photos. I often use this arrangement in the children’s school albums and the WRMK pocket pages are ideal for this purpose.

I used a lime green background to make the navy pop on the page. The vellum with the stars on is an oldie but goodie from Crate paper – I have been saving this one up for a special occasion. I recently treated myself to the Tim Holtz Small Talk sticker book and I went a bit crazy with them on the page.

I kept it really simple on the pocket page – a few photos, filler cards and a bit of journaling. The idea is to fill the pockets on the other side with little snippets of information from the first four weeks of school, and that’s September covered…

bottom of page