top of page

My Wild Tribe

Hello and Welcome back to my blog!

I'm back on the double page team this month on the Stick It Down blog. Here is my layout for the month of February:

And here is the fantastic double page sketch that inspired the layout:

I've been wanting to use the howling wolf cut file on a layout for a while now - it's from Tommy and Tilly Paper Design, and it's available from the Silhouette Design Store. I've had it cut out of white card stock, waiting for the right photos or inspiration to come along. This month's sketch was ideal for this die-cut.

I decided to replace the large doily heart on the sketch with the wolf cut-file and create a layout which summarises our adventures from last year. I do this sometimes at the beginning of the new year - it's good to reflect on the previous year, focusing on the happy, rather than the hardship.

I didn't want to make too many changes to the sketch, so I decided to just choose five photos that represents our adventures, rather than including a photo from each month.

I changed the placement of the title - this specific title worked better in a vertical, rather than a horizontal direction. The word 'tribe' is from a Kolette Hall cut-file; the rest of the title was designed in Silhouette Studio.

I created three embellishment clusters - i tried to adhere to the sketch for these as much as possible.

I used the Wolf Pack collection from Heidi Swapp for this layout. As this collection has silver accents, I cut the title out from Silver card. Some of the embellishment pieces - such as the diamond shapes, and the banner underneath the photo on the far right - are images stamped onto card stock and fussy cut. I find the Heidi Swapp stamp sets so usable and affordable; you really can stretch your collection with these quite a bit.

This sketch was so easy to work with, and the layout came together so easily! You can see my process video here. Don't forget to keep checking back to the Stick It Down blog for loads more inspiration throughout the month! Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page