top of page

Hello Autumn


Hello and welcome back to my blog! Today's layout is the third one I created with the November Stick It Down double page sketch. I wanted this page to resemble the original sketch as much as possible. I still ended up flipping it and making some minor changes to the size, orientation and placement of the photos. I'm afraid this is the closest I can adhere to any sketch!

I decided to use patterned paper for the strips in the background. After learning my lesson from the last layout, I decided not to waste too much time with the positioning. I ended up overlapping the paper strips, so any crookedness would look like part of the design. This was a much faster way to create the background.

I did a proper bit of stash busting with this layout, using older collections from my stash. I went for traditional Autumnal colours, and I added light blue to it, to complement the photos. Although I tried to use mostly neutral patterns, the background still ended up rather busy, and it was competing with the photos. So I had to tune it down but adding a layer of vellum.

I kept the embellishments simple, trying to use up as much old stock as possible. I tried not to introduce any new colours at this stage, so that the layout wouldn't get too crazy. I replaced one of the photos on the left with a journaling card, as journaling is a must for me.

I had the word 'Autumn' cut out of patterned paper hanging about in my stash for a good while. It was just the right size to be used as the title; and the colour matched the leaves on the photos and the frame of the sentiment sticker - it was perfect for this layout.

Thanks for visiting my blog, hope you like my takes on this sketch! Be sure to keep checking back to the Stick It Down blog for loads more inspiration throughout the month! Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page