top of page

Confirmation

Hello and welcome back to my blog! I am publishing two posts today, as I have created two projects with the Stick It Down August double page sketch! The first one is a 8.5" x 11" double page scrapbook layout:

And here is the sketch I have been using:

As the title suggests, this layout is about my daughter's confirmation at church. This layout is for her school album, so the story is kept brief, as I will be documenting the event more in detail in a different album.

I have kept the horizontal and vertical lines from the sketch, but made some changes, too. The photo sizes and orientations are different.

For the background paper I have chosen two identical Heidi Swapp patterned paper from the Magnolia Jane collection. I love this paper, and I have been saving it for a special occasion. It was perfect for this layout, as there are some clashing colours on the photos, but those flowers tie all the red-based colours together. My dress is lilac, with coral flowers; the interior of the church and the other lady's dress is red - there are hues of coral, red and purple in those flowers on the patterned papers. Just perfect!

I matted the photos on multi-coloured striped paper; I tried to match them to the colours of the photos. The one on the left has pinks, reds and yellows. The ones on the right have blues, pinks and mauves. This also helped to tie in all the colours, so that they don't look too random.

With all these colours going on, it was important to keep the rest of the layout calm. I used simple patterns and neutral colours.

The alpha used for the title might seem a bit random, but there is a reason for these - I am going to use these very same alphas for the next layout in the scrapbook too, which is about the school prom. I used these alphas three years ago, to document my son's prom, and it seemed like a nice touch to use the same for my daughter...

I created three small and simple embellishment clusters using ephemera from the Pink Paislee 'Indigo & Ivy' collection, and bits from various Pinkfresh Studio (of course). I used blues and yellows here, to correspond with the blues and golds the fellas are wearing on the photos, and I used different shades of pink and orange enamel dots and puffy crosses to tie the embellishment clusters in with the rest of the layout.

Hope you like my payout. You can read my next post to find out what else I created with this month's sketch. And don't forget to check out the SID blog to find out how the rest of the double sketch team have interpreted this fantastic sketch! Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page